The Daily Nash-on

a mindstream from just another statistic…

What I said about entering a new phase of life tur…

with 4 comments

What I said about entering a new phase of life turned out to be a prophecy of sorts. It is official now. I have been offered admission to the International Max Planck Research School, University of Goettingen in the Molecular Biology program.

I am yet to work out details, and have not confirmed anything with them. None the less, like Dr.Balaji put it, at least I am asking different questions now.

Current plans for two weeks include a mad-dash to get representable data for the project and turn it into a thesis. Fortunately, we had to do Phase I some time ago so basically the only extra thing to do is the results and the thinking. The literature survey and so on is already done. With all these things and courses , my pace of working on the project had really slowed down. I am sure that happens to all of us, right ? But today, I finally went one step ahead with my data acquisition.

Sometime in the next three weeks, I have to give two exams, prepare two presentations, and research and understand , a few published papers. Bring it on :P.

On a personal note, things are going great , everyone is a bit busy this year even though it is vacation time. I guess as you grow older vacation time loses meaning. Pooja is quite absorbed in her studies for her exams next week, and therefore systematically ignoring me ( 🙂 ), so little time is spent on the phone or online chatting with her.
Most of the time is now diverted into reading a really cool book by Bernard Dixon, Power Unseen : How Microbes rule the world. Yeah yeah, I know what some of you are saying, it sounds like a bad hollywood horror flick you watch only when you’re drunk enough to not realise what is going on on the TV. But seriously, if you took the time out to read the book, your perception of the world would change. You can read a review of the book in the BMJ here

Off late, I have also been Orkutting a lot, thanks to Richa Speaking of which, I actually got in touch with my best friend in school…Amey Nadkarni, through Orkut. In the past 7 years, a lot happened, and we had drifted away. But hey, everything happens for a reason, and we’re still in the process of getting to know each other all over again.

I shall resolve, btw, to post more frequently again. This time it may come through, a lot of things are rolling now…as is clear.

Written by Nash

March 25, 2006 at 11:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dude thats some great news. keep me posted for sure about ur plans. later on.

    Roodge

    March 26, 2006 at 1:35 am

  2. That is sooooooo cool!
    party!party!
    though i always knew youd get into some cool place and dazzle us all..:)

    kate

    March 27, 2006 at 10:52 am

  3. Congratulations! that’s so cool! wow! 🙂

    Soundarya

    April 5, 2006 at 12:34 pm

  4. @Soundarya : Thanks 🙂

    Nash

    April 5, 2006 at 9:22 pm


Leave a Reply

