The Daily Nash-on

a mindstream from just another statistic…

Thaambo!

with 8 comments

There is a thing about Marathi people….we’re hopeless at Hindi. There used to be a joke about how in Mumbaiyya Hindi “Listen to me!” is “Tum mera aiko!!” . For the uninitiated “Aik” = listen in Marathi. Aiko is a marathi word with a Hindi inflexion.

Yesterday though, Pooja revealed Parlekar-ness by saying “…tell them to STOP…!! Thaambo !!

Imagine my delight as I pointed it out to her :))

Anyhow, on other fronts, I am right-now doing a visa app. and the exams are trickling in one by one (like I told one of my friends recently, my grammar died in immuno class). Just about 12 days to go… The heat is getting rather too much these days. My forearms are already tanned 4 shades more compared to me. Result of the biking.

Written by Nash

April 18, 2006 at 11:56 am

Posted in Daily Updates

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. UUUUUUUU had to write that , didnt u>?? Oh By the way my “thambo” was still tolerable ! U forgot u’r ” oh u know that gal did a M.A mai dance ” lol ….and u make fun of what i said …So viwers tell us which ones more funny?? my ‘thaambo’ or his M.A mai Dance ! ( Pleaseeeee be on my side )

    Pooja

    April 18, 2006 at 12:32 pm

  2. POO! U neednt plead like that…ALWAYS on UR side 🙂

    N Nash SuperCute pic of Poo… take care Mr.. vary vary rishky 😉
    oh! n btw… Am I right in thinking the MA mai dance was done by someone in our dept?

    MM

    April 19, 2006 at 9:55 pm

  3. dude..how can u ignore the fantastic improvements marathi has made to English.
    Eg.

    What yaar…it is pausofying outside

    Arre u know what…i have my prem on you!!! ( i know it was shocker to me)

    peace

    Roodge

    April 19, 2006 at 10:32 pm

  4. is this “thee parla coll-age” ?
    dood, but atleast you’re better off than i am, i mean, i mix up konkani+hindi+marathi = something that even i can’t understand) 😀

    KK

    April 20, 2006 at 1:00 am

  5. @Maya : No re, not from college, some random chick I know.

    @Roodge: Yeah of course…Punekari English is another beast altogether. 🙂 Why dont you make a post about those things….I have my prem on you was hilarious.

    @KK : Nah , its not thee Parla-college. Its the airport, quick timepass place cause its close, got food , coffee, open places, and relatively low crowd. And why do you mix three? Girlfriend speaks Hindi or just the effect of IIT.?

    Nash

    April 20, 2006 at 11:06 am

  6. is there a “none of the above ” choice ? 😀
    nah man, it’s just that konkani and marathi are similar and so are mar and hindi…sooo…

    KK

    April 21, 2006 at 12:03 am

  7. Marathi n Hindi are similar???!!! 😮 (other than the script of course)

    MM

    April 21, 2006 at 7:41 am

  8. yessss, some words are, and the inflection is confusing,especially !

    KK

    April 21, 2006 at 8:39 pm


Leave a Reply

