The Daily Nash-on

a mindstream from just another statistic…

Mistborn

leave a comment »

I think I have gotten over it. I mean, I can now finally read books on a computer as comfortably as I can read them in their classical bound formats. A lot of people complain that its not the same thing….and I agreed. But having a portable computer like a laptop or a tablet PC lets you “lie on the bed and cozy up with a cup of tea”. Not to mention there are already those pretty e-book readers available , but at 400 Euro a piece, they are a bit out of my price range at the moment.

Why am I writing about this ? Well, because Tor, came up with the idea of sending a copyright-free e-book of various science-fiction/fantasy titles to subscribers on their mailing list. And the first one I’ve recieved is “Mistborn” by Brandon Sanderson.

9780765350381_Page_001

I am only upto Chapter 5, and so I don’t really know what happens. But I am curious. Mr.Sanderson has managed to spin a world that with fantastic novelty, as well as subtly undertones that let us identify with the characters. This , in my opinion, is the hallmark of a good fantasy writer.

I shall say more about the book once I finish it…but its definitely one to go through if you’re a fan of the genre.

Written by Nash

February 18, 2008 at 3:05 am

Leave a Reply

